STATE CAPITOL P.O. BOX 942849 SACRAMENTO, CA 94249-0032 (916) 319-2032 FAX (916) 319-2132



September 28, 2023

The Honorable Gavin Newsom Governor 1021 O Street Sacramento CA, 95814

Dear Governor Newsom,

Gas prices are once again soaring, and Californians are paying \$2 more per gallon than the rest of the country. Drivers are spending more than \$100 each month just on gas. This elevated energy cost cuts into families' already strained budgets.

We ask you to call a special session of the Legislature to temporarily suspend the state's gas tax. Californians are paying \$0.58 per gallon to the state. Immediate relief is needed.

California is an energy island with isolated resources which makes our state reliant on foreign imports if more domestic production is not allowed.

In December 2022, you convened a special session of the Legislature and unveiled a proposed penalty on oil production. With prices again near record highs, Californians are rightfully upset as current policies are not working.

As you are aware, there was a temporary suspension of the diesel sales tax in a previous budget. Energy experts have noted the lack of production permits and an isolated energy market that places more cost burdens on hard-working Californians.

Hence, we call upon you to convene a special session of the Legislature to temporarily suspend the gas tax. By suspending the gas tax, everyday Californians can better afford to commute to work and drive their children to school.

Sincerely,

Vince Fong

Assemblymember, 32nd District

James Gallagher

Assemblymember, 3rd District

Buf

Brian Jones Senator, 40th District

Je Full

Joe Patterson Assemblymember, 5th District

Jim Patterson
Assemblymember, 8th District

Jan al.

Juan Alanis Assemblymember, 22nd District

Tom Lackey Assemblymember, 34th District

Phillip Chen Assemblymember, 59th District

Whillip Chen

meganDahle

Megan Dahle Assemblymember, 1st District

Josh Hoover Assemblymember, 7th District

Heath Flora Assemblymember, 9th District

Houth Eleva

Devon Mathis Assemblymember, 33rd District

Greg Wallis Assemblymember, 47th District

Bill Essayli

Assemblymember, 63rd District

Thineed

Tri Ta Assemblymember, 70th District

Dine D. Disen

Diane Dixon Assemblymember, 72nd District

Marie Waldrow

Marie Waldron Assemblymember, 75th District

Day Nullo

Roger Niello

Senator, 6th District

Scott Wilk Senator, 21st District

Kelly Seyarto Senator, 32nd District fote anshey

Kate Sanchez Assemblymember, 71st District

Laurie Davies

Assemblymember, 74th District

Brian Dable

Brian Dahle Senator, 1st District

Shannon Grove Senator, 12th District

Rosilicie Ochoa Bogh Senator, 23rd District

Janet Nguyen Senator, 36th District